Calling all Public Health Champions!

New award shines the light on those who make our community healthier

Are you or do you know someone who goes above and beyond to protect and promote the health of others in our community? If yes, then nominate them for a Public Health Champion Award!

The Sudbury & District Health Unit is calling on all residents to nominate fellow citizens and organizations for the inaugural 2015 Public Health Champion Award. Help us recognize the extraordinary achievements of fellow public health champions. What is a public health champion? Why, anyone that helps to protect and promote the health of our residents.

“We hope this award will give us the chance to honour, thank, and showcase the invaluable contributions our neighbours and organizations make to help keep our communities healthier,” said Dr. Penny Sutcliffe, Medical Officer of Health. “For our first award, we want to focus on environmental health and recognize the very important work that is being done to keep our food and water supplies safe and our communities free of health hazards.”

The Health Unit’s Environmental Health Division works to promote and protect health and to prevent disease through the following program areas:

  • Environmental Health Policy
  • Infectious Diseases Prevention and Control
  • Health Hazard Prevention and Management
  • Food Safety
  • Part 8/Ontario Building Code (Septic Systems)
  • Public Health Emergency Preparedness
  • Rabies Prevention and Control
  • Safe Water
  • Tobacco Enforcement
  • Vector Borne Diseases including West Nile virus (WNv)

Award recipients will be selected based on demonstrated achievements towards positive public health in the areas of environmental health in the categories of Leadership, Collaboration, Innovation, and Creating Opportunities for Change.

Nominations are open until Thursday, April 30, 2015, and will be judged by a committee of the Sudbury & District Board of Health and Health Unit staff. The nomination form, and eligibility guidelines are available online. This year’s recipients will be honoured at an awards ceremony in June.

This item was last modified on June 5, 2015